Prep Girls Basketball

Prep notebook: Hummert, Schreacke make WCC first team

on Monday, Jan. 6, 2020. | H-W Photo/Jake Shane
Posted: Mar. 15, 2020 12:10 am

The Quincy Notre Dame girls basketball duo of senior Sydney Hummert and freshman Abbey Schreacke were named to the all-West Central Conference North Division first team.

Hummert and Schreacke helped guide the Raiders to a perfect 4-0 record in the North Division and an appearance in the Class 2A super-sectional for the first time since 2014.

Hummert, who was also named an honorable mention All-State selection by the Illinois Associated Press and a second-team All-State honoree by the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association, averaged 17.7 points per game this season along with 7.6 rebounds, 2.3 steals and 1.5 blocks. Hummert, an SIU-Edwardsville volleyball signee, was the main offensive force for the Raiders.

Schreacke also played a large role for QND in her first high school season, averaging 16.8 points per game along with 5.5 rebounds and 3.1 steals. Schreacke was also selected as a third-team All-State honoree by the IBCA.

Also making the first team in the North Division were Central-Southeastern's Kennady Marlow and West Hancock's Malarie ross and Josi Radel. Raiders freshman Blair Eftink was chosen as an honorable mention.

In the WCC South Division, Liberty's Paige Knuffman and Taryn Roe were chosen to the first team, as was Unity's Addi Eger.

Talton, Edwards chosen to WB6 first team

Quincy High School sophomore standout Jeremiah Talton was selected to the All-Western Big 6 Conference boys basketball first team, while senior Olivia Edwards was honored on the All-WB6 Conference girls first team.

Talton led the Blue Devils in scoring with 15.9 points per game this season. Before being injured against Geneseo late in the season, Talton helped QHS to an 8-4 record in the WB6 and a battle for second in the conference.

Edwards guided the Blue Devil girls to a second-place finish in the WB6 for the first time since 2004. QHS won its final seven WB6 contests to finish in second place, and Edwards ran the show offensively from her point guard position.

Blue Devils senior Lucas Reis was honored on the boys second team, while fellow senior Adonte Crider was selected as an honorable mention.

On the girls side, junior Emily Wilson was selected to the second team in her first season competing in the WB6. Only conference-champion Geneseo, Moline and QHS finished with two selections on the first and second teams on the girls all-conference lists.

Stark, Durst share CCC player of the year

Monroe City senior Bryce Stark and Palmyra senior Jayden Durst were both selected as the co-Clarence Cannon Conference players of the year.

Stark guided Monroe City to a CCC championship and a 7-0 record, as well as a district title and an appearance in the Missouri Class 3 state semifinals for the first time in 25 years.

Durst was the leading scorer on a Palmyra team that finished second in the conference with a 5-2 record.

Also on the all-CCC first team were Clark County senior Brandon Kracht, Centralia senior Guy Moran and Monroe City sophomore Joshua Talton. Kracht, Moran, Stark and Durst were all unanimous selections.

Josiah Talton and Logan Buhlig were second team selections for Monroe City, Zane Meyers and Aaron Stamper were on the second team for Palmyra, Conner Mack represented Clark County on the second team and Highland's Dalton Kocke was also on the second team.

Palmyra's Stone selected as top CCC player

Palmyra senior Megan Stone was honored as the Clarence Cannon Conference player of the year. Stone was the leading scorer on a Palmyra team that finished second in the CCC with a 6-1 record, their only loss to Macon.

Macon also defeated Palmyra in the district finals before making it all the way to the Class 3 final four.

Joining Stone on the first team was teammate Bailey Lovelace, who was also a unanimous selection. Macon's Alexis Miller was the third unanimous first-team honoree.

Clark County's Jade Ross and Macon's Katelyn Hawkins rounded out the first-team selections. Isabella Goldinger was a second-team selection for Palmyra, Hallie Dyer and Riley Quinn represented Monroe City on the second team, Addy Johnson and Lauren Merrell were both selected to the second team for Highland, as were Clark County's Alexis Ellison and Kaylee Gaines from South Shelby.

Chargers trio chosen for all-conference honors

Illini West's Karli Artman, Megan Harrell and Caydee Kirkham were all selected to the all-Prairieland Conference girls basketball team.

Artman, the oldest of the trio as a junior, was chosen to the first team. Artman led the Chargers in scoring with 16 points per game this season, and she averaged three steals, two rebounds and two assists. Artman was chosen as an Illinois Associated Press Class 2A All-State honorable mention and an Illinois Basketball Coaches Association third-team honoree.

Joining Artman on the first team was sophomore Harrell, who averaged 12.3 points, 4.1 rebounds, three assists and three steals per game. Fellow sophomore Kirkham was selected to the second team.

On the boys side, Illini West senior Isaac Schreacke and junior Lincoln Gooding were special mention honorees.